top of page

How to be a big sister


I’ve been a protective big sister since I was 2 years old so I pretty much have no idea how to be anyone else. It’s stressful and exhausting. As the oldest child, you’ll have to live with the responsibility to pave the way for the others. The important fact about it is that nobody will tell you nor ask you to do it. However, they’re all expecting it – your little siblings and your parents. You not only have to learn the ropes of growing up in this century by yourself but you’re going to have to learn it well enough and fast in order for you teach the younger ones.

I wish I would have gotten more than 2 years to adjust to the world before my parents thrusted another human being my way. I wish the love and protectiveness didn’t come with the package but it did. From the moment I saw him, I knew I needed to protect my little brother and be the best so he wouldn’t have to learn it all on his own. Till this day my parents still tell the story of how they practically had to hurl me away from my little bother’s crib. I didn’t want anyone else to come near him. He was mine from the very first sight.

Basically, being the older sister is like being the mother without the perks nor the troubles of motherhood. You get to raise them and nurture them without having to wake up in the middle of the night to feed them. You get to feed them without worrying about how to get the food. Your little siblings are your first children. They look up to you and love you. It’s your job to teach them about growing up because you might very well be the one person who can understand them. The parents do their jobs but you’re the one the little siblings are going to lean more to. You’re a child just like them except with more experience. They will share their innocent secrets with you which you are not to tell your parents ever unless it will harm them. Also, they will ask you for advice. Therefore, you’re the only one who can love them and play with them while helping and protecting them.

But the craziest things about it is that you actually want to do it and love it. Now, your question might be how does one achieve the awesomeness and fulfilling life of an older sister? Simple, get a little brother. They just tease and get annoying. Little sisters will take your clothes and make you question prison.

Featured posts
Recent Posts
Follow Hermione 
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google Classic
  • Facebook Classic
  • YouTube Classic
bottom of page